KGS Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Committee mission statement

The Kansas Geological Survey is devoted to providing an inclusive, accessible, and safe environment for everyone. Everyone includes all scientists, staff, postdocs, students, visiting scholars, guests and community members regardless of background including but not limited to disability, socio-economic status, race, ethnicity, ancestry, spirituality, national origin, sexual orientation, parental status, age, veteran status, genetic information, marital status, and gender identity and expression. The KGS Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging Committee mission is to increase representation and support of groups that have been historically under-represented in the geosciences*, and to further integrate fairness, belonging, and support into our policies, protocols, practices, and treatment of others. While we recognize this is a challenge across the geoscience community, our efforts will focus on the KGS and the communities we serve.

* Under-represented groups in the geosciences include women, minorities (Black, African-American, Hispanic-American, Latinx, Caribbean-American, Arab-American, American Indian or Alaska Native), persons with disabilities, and members of the LGBTQIA+ community per definitions provided by the National Science Foundation and the Queer in STEM project

June 2021 DEIB Committee Members: Blair Schneider (co-chair), Sam Zipper (co-chair), Kristen Jordan, Catherine Opalka, Sahar Mohammadi, Diana Ortega-Ariza, Annette Delaney, Kevin Han, Juliana Gonzales.

We'd like your feedback - please send us your comments. Comments can be sent anonymously.