KGS Home General Info Index Page News Releases

News Release, Kansas Geological Survey, Feb. 14, 2005

Survey Students Recognized

LAWRENCE--Four students from the University of Kansas were recognized this spring by the Kansas Geological Survey, based on KU's west campus.

Jerry Wright, who graduated this spring with a degree in architecture, was given the Norman Plummer Outstanding Student Award. Wright worked in cartographic services at the Survey, designing and developing geologic maps. The award is named for Norman Plummer, a Survey employee from 1936 to 1969.

Theresa Rademacker, a gradaute student in geophysics, was presented the William W. Hambleton Award for student research. Rademacker has worked in the Survey's seismic reflection program, helping to collect seismic data near sinkholes in central Kansas and at an enhanced oil recovery project in Russell County. The award is named for the Survey's director from 1970 to 1986.

Dane Bailey, a graduate student in geography, was given the Lee and Darcy Gerhard award for student field research. Bailey helped with an archeological survey in Kanorado in northwestern Kansas, and helped with a stream-sediment sampling program. The award is named after Lee Gerhard, director of the Survey from 1987 to 1999, and his wife.

Michael McGlashan, a graduate student in gephysics, was presented the Frank C. Foley Groundwater Student Travel Award. McGlashan is a research support specialist in the Survey's geohydrology section and has worked on modeling the interaction between streams and neighboring aquifers. The award is named for the Survey's director from 1954 to 1970.

The students received cash awards and certificates, presented by the Survey's interim director Bill Harrison, in a mid-May ceremony at the Survey.

Story by Rex Buchanan, (785) 864-2106
Kansas Geological Survey, Public Outreach