KGS Home General Info Index Page News Releases

News Release, Kansas Geological Survey, May 23, 2002

Survey Advisory Council to Meet in Lawrence

LAWRENCE--Members of the advisory council for the Kansas Geological Survey, based at the University of Kansas, will meet in Lawrence on May 30 and 31.

The council is a 12-member group from across the state that meets twice a year to review and discuss Survey programs.

The upcoming meeting will include presentations from Survey staff about research and legislation concerning the High Plains aquifer of western Kansas; ongoing studies related to natural gas explosions in Hutchinson in January 2001; and a new Survey program involving geology and archeology.

Current members of the advisory council are Dennis Clennan, Hutchinson; David Heinemann, Topeka; Sharon Falk, Stafford; Sheila Leiker-Page, Victoria; Dennis McKinney, Greensburg; Derek Schmidt, Independence; Hubert H. Hall, Lecompton; Mary Hubbard, Manhattan; Sidney Warner, Cimarron; Larry McCants, Goodland; Larry Richardson, Wichita; and Hannes Zacharias, Olathe.

The Kansas Geological Survey is a research and service division of KU, located on the University's west campus. The Survey studies and reports on the state's geologic resources and hazards.

Link of interest to this article:
KGS Advisory Council web page

For more information, contact Rex Buchanan, (785) 864-2106

Kansas Geological Survey, Public Outreach