KGS Home General Info Index Page News Releases

News Release, Kansas Geological Survey, July 14, 1999

Student Awards Presented by Geological Survey

LAWRENCE--Four students from the Kansas Geological Survey, a division of the University of Kansas, have been honored for their service and achievement while at the Survey.

The four were recognized at a recent ceremony by Survey director Lee C. Gerhard. The students were given cash awards and recognition certificates.

Alex Martinez, a member of the Survey's petroleum research section, was presented with the William W. Hambleton Student Research Award. Martinez specializes in the application of geophysical tools, such as ground-penetrating radar, and was co-author of several publications with other Survey staff. He recently completed a Ph.D. in geophysics from KU and is employed by Exxon Exploration Company in Houston, Texas. Martinez is from Houston, Missouri.

The Hambleton award is named for William W. Hambleton, director of the Survey from 1970 to 1987. The award was established in 1987 and annually recognizes the outstanding student researcher at the Survey.

Two undergraduate students from Lawrence shared the Norman Plummer Outstanding Student Award. Lewis Walton, a senior majoring in philosophy, was recognized for his work in computer support. Ellen Rork, who graduated in May with a bachelor's degree in business administration, was recognized for her work as a student assistant in the Survey's human resources and payroll offices.

The Plummer award is named for Norman Plummer, a long-time Survey geologist who specialized in clays and ceramic materials. The award, established in 1985, is given annually to students who provide outstanding support and service at the Survey.

Cameron McCormick, a graduate research student in the Survey's geohygrology section, was given the Frank C. Foley student award. McCormick's studied the Dakota aquifer, collecting, evaluating, and analyzing water-chemistry data. McCormick, a Ph.D. student in the KU geography department, is from Duluth, Minnesota.

The award is named for Frank C. Foley, director of the Survey from 1954 to 1970 and a specialist in groundwater studies. The award was established in 1987 to recognize outstanding student work in geohydrology.

Story by Rex Buchanan, (785) 864-3965

Kansas Geological Survey, Publications and Public Affairs