KGS Home Water Resources Index Page

Ground Water Management Districts

In Kansas, local units of government, called groundwater management districts, provide water-use administration, planning, and information. Five groundwater management districts were created in the 1970s in the western and central parts of the state. The primary use of ground water in these areas is irrigation, although several districts also face issues of municipal supply. The districts are governed by local boards and have been instrumental in providing information and identifying research and regulatory needs within their boundaries.

Map of GM districts

Katie Durham, Manager
Western Kansas Groundwater Management
District No. 1
P.O. Box 604
Scott City, KS 67871
(620) 872-5563
Tim Boese, Manager
Equus Beds Groundwater Management
District No. 2
313 Spruce
Halstead, KS 67056
(316) 835-2224
Mark Rude, Executive Director
Southwest Kansas Groundwater Management
District No. 3
2009 E Spruce Street
Garden City, KS 67846
(620) 275-7147
Shannon Kenyon, Manager
Northwest Kansas Groundwater Management
District No. 4
P.O. Box 905
1290 West 4th Street
Colby, KS 67701
(785) 462-3915
Orrin Feril, Manager
Big Bend Groundwater Management
District No. 5
P.O. Box 7, 125 S. Main
Stafford, KS 67578
(620) 234-5352

Kansas Geological Survey
Updated Sept. 25, 2015
Please send comments to
The URL for this page is