Physiographic Regions

Physiographic Map of Kansas High Plains High Plains High Plains Smoky Hills Arkansas Lowlands Red Hills Flint Hills Arkansas Lowlands Arkansas Lowlands Glaciated Regions Osage Questas Chautauqua Hills Cherokee Lowlands Ozark Plateau High Plains Smoky Hills Glaciated Region Ozark Plateau Wellington-McPherson Lowlands Wellington-McPherson Lowlands Cherokee Lowlands Chautauqua Hills Red Hills Flint Hills Osage Questas

Kansas embraces a wide variety of landscapes, shaped by geologic processes in the past and more recently by human activities, such as farming and mining. Based on common landscape features and geological history, geologists have divided Kansas into the 11 different regions shown on the map. These regions (sometimes called physiographic provinces) each tell a unique story about Kansas geology.

Click on the map to find out more about the geology, rocks and minerals, and places to visit in each of the regions.